Department History

The Medical Laboratory Science Programme commenced in the University of Calabar in 1983 with a pioneer intake of ten(10) students admitted through the University Matriculation Examination (UME) as a 4 year Programme administered by a Coordinator, appointed by the Vice Chancellor. The pioneer Co-ordinator of the Programme was Dr. S. J. Utsalo (now a Professor).

The pioneer students of the programme were enrolled for a four (4) year study leading to the award of the Bachelor of Science in Medical Laboratory Technology (BSc-MLT)ours was the first degree – awarding Programme on this subject (MLS) East of the Niger. Of the first batch of 10 students, 8 graduated in 1987.From this time the programme has grown from year to year in number of students, Staff, equipment and facilities.

In the year 1993 under Dr. A.E Udoh (now a Professor)Coordinator-ship, the Programme received the approval of the University of Calabar Senate to run for 5 years in line with the National Universities Commission recommendations for Professional programmes. The 5 years Programme started in the 1995/96 academic session to allow time for programme development and other logistics that would accompany such programme transformation. It was also during this period that the programme attained the status of a full department. The nomenclature of the degree also changed from B.Sc.-MLT to Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Science (BMLS) in the 2000/2001 academic session.

Since 2000, the Department has had at least 6 Heads as is the culture of the University of Calabar to rotate leadership of Departments among qualified academic staff. Each of these individuals is worthy of commendation for their immense contributions towards the sustenance of this programme.

The success of the department does not only lie with Heads of Department. The Department of Medical Laboratory Science is operational under 4 different Laboratory Units. Each of these Laboratory Units had at one time or the other been headed by the academic staff in the various departments - for Medical Microbiology, Prof. G. C. Ejezie, Prof S. J. Utsalo, Prof. J. Epoke, Prof. L. Abia-Bassey& Prof. M. F. Useh; for Haematology, Prof.S. J. Utsalo, Prof. A. O. Emeribe, Dr. E. A. Usanga, Prof. E. K. Uko & Dr I. A. Ibanga; for Chemical Pathology, Prof. A. E. Udoh, Prof D. M. Bolarin,Prof. M. Etukudoh & Prof. C. A. Usoro, and for Histopathology, Prof. I. Ekanem, Mr A.W Essien and Dr I Otu-Bassey.

It is worthy of note that this Department would not have attained this success without the support of the professional staff and the laboratory scientists in the UCTH laboratories where our students are being trained. Again, it is of note that the Department is credited as being the first in the country in teaching and training of Medical Laboratory Scientists. The graduates of the Department are found in academics, diagnostics, laboratory management, biomedical engineering, etc .All these are tangible rewards of the collective efforts of the Department.

It is my prayer that we continue to work hard towards repositioning the Department to a greater height.

Prof. A. A. A. Alaribe  2000-2002 
Prof. M.F. Useh  2002-2004 
Dr. E.A. Usanga  2004-2006 
Prof. E.K. Uko  2006-2008 
Prof. A.E. Asuquo  2008-2010 
Dr. P.C. Inyang-Etoh  2010-2012 
Dr. J.O. Akpotuzor  2012-2014 
Prof. A.A.A. Alaribe  2014-Date