Department History

The University of Calabar was established by Decree No. 80 of 1975. The B.N.Sc. programme of the University of Calabar started in 1993/1994 session as a unit in the Department of Community Health then in the Faculty of Clinical Sciences in the College of Medical Science. During this period, Mrs. Theresa Ndebbio was appointed 1st Coordinator of the programme. The proposal to establish the programme was approved by the University Senate on March 12, 1992. The proposal was defended before the Nursing and Midwifery Council of Nigeria (N&MCN). Several visits have been made by both the NUC and N&MCN starting from 1998 to 1999, 2000, 2005, 2007, and 2014. The Department was granted provisional accreditation by the N&MCN in 1998 and full accreditation by NUC in 2007.

The programme commenced with four foundation academic staff, Dr. (Mrs) Adiaha A. Effiong, Dr. (now Professor) Mildred E. John, Mrs. Oliade B. Edet (now Dr.) and Ms. (now Dr.) Idongesit Akpabio. Dr. Mildred John served as the 2nd Coordinator of the programme (October 1996-2006) and also served as the examination officer during the period. Dr. Mrs. Adiaha Effiong became the first Head of Department in 2001, when the unit became a full Department. The Department has been headed by the under listed persons:

  • Dr. Adiaha Effiong (2001-2003)
  • Professor Mildred E. John (2003-2005, 2007-2008)
  • Dr. Grace Robinson-Bassey (2005-2007)
  • Dr. (Mrs.) Olaide B. Edet (2008-2010)
  • Dr. Idongesit Akpabio (2010-2012)
  • Dr. (Mrs) Ekpoanwan Esienumoh (2012-2014)
  • Dr. (Mrs) Patience Samson Akpan (2014-2016)
Dr. Mary Achi Mgbekem is the current acting Head of Department. Presently, the department has full time core academic staff and six part-time academic staff teaching different nursing and related courses.